Crispy Buttermilk Chicken Breasts

I cannot believe I forgot to take pictures of this when I made this yesterday! I’ll have to remember to take pictures the next time I make this. I had leftover buttermilk when I made banana bread over the weekend. I hate the thought of wasting food and I had wanted to find ways to use up the rest of the buttermilk. I came across this recipe and modified it to what I had on hand. It was a smashing delicious success! Marinating the chicken in this buttermilk mixture makes the chicken moist and tender. Sautéing the chicken seals the juices and develops a nice crispy crust just before transferring to the oven. It’s a must try!

Ingredients:

  • 4 to 6 thick skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 3/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • a dash of black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups flour

Directions:

  1. Place chicken breasts inside a large zip loc bag. Combine buttermilk, egg, and garlic salt. Add combination to the bag. Seal and let chicken sit in the marinate for at least 4 hours in the refrigerator.
  2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  3. Remove chicken from bag and discard the juices. Mix flour, black pepper, celery seed (and add more garlic salt if desired – it’s what I did). Dredge chicken breasts in flour mixture.
  4. Heat frying pan over medium-high heat. Add olive oil. Cook chicken breasts with flour coating on them 4 mins per side (don’t worry if it’s not fully cooked!).
  5. Lay partially fried chicken breasts on greased foil-lined baking pan and bake for 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

